Otaku Life Radio
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

DJ ASU Bio

Go down

DJ ASU Bio Empty DJ ASU Bio

Post  DJ ASU Wed Nov 21, 2007 3:58 pm

Hi Everyone Just thought I'd give some background to my DJing Skills.
I started learning the skill from the mid 80's by listening to many New York radio Hip Hop mix tapes by DJ Red Alert, Marley Marl, Chuck Chill Out and more of the pioneers of radio DJs. From there I learned skills and my style the hard way- Paying my dues by being a speaker boy at house parties and being kicked off a few sets for sucking. Learning things this way has taught me to be unique and think out the box. So I thank all you DJ's that kicked my butt when I was starting off.

Speaking of Style, my style of DJing blends beats and melodies while keeping the audience guessing what will come next. I am very good at scratching and doing minor tricks but I am not a "battle DJ" in todays terms. I get my best vibes when DJing live and while I love to mix Old School Hip Hop the most for it's hard beats and creative composition, I am able to mix any music out there. I use anything from Turn Tables to CD Players and Mixing programs but I will always, ALWAYS, stick very close to my 2 Technique 1200 Turn tables no matter what!!!

Over the years I DJ'd house parties, clubs, weddings, fashion shows, car shows, and even a few Anime Cons. I was Djing clubs up until 2003 when domestic music stopped inspiring me and I dove deep into my alternative music of choice: J-Pop (mind you - not even thinking to DJ it hard core like I am now). By habit I collect many things and J-pop became one of them so my collection is quite large and by Chance the good folks of Otaku Life Radio asked me to do this show. I looked at it as an oppertunity to get back into the thing I love and to do it with music that was creative and fresh.

I decided to do this in two ways: